Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player




The second edition of “INDIAN OPEN 2008” was successfully held  from 18 – 21st Dec’2008 at the Kalinga Stadium , Bhubaneswar. The event is sanctioned by National Kickboxing Federation i.e.  IAKO and to be hosted by All Orissa Kickboxing Association (AOKA) in association with Pumas International and Rotary Club of Bhubaneswar. Nearly 1000 participants and Officials from 24 States, Union Territories including Armed & Police Units from all over India.

The Preseident of National Kickboxing Federation(IAKO) Engineer Harichandan informed that , INDIAN OPEN is the truly Open National Kickboxing competition for all the Martial Arts Organisations/Associations in India irrespective of any style/art/system. This is a noble effort of IAKO in introducing such a Mega Open National event since 2007 in the name and style of INDIAN OPEN which was successfully organized in Swarna Bharati Indoor Stadium, Visakhapatanam, AP with more than 1200 participants from all over the country.. To organize this mega event successfully the National Federation provide financial assistances of Rs. 3.00 lakhs only to AOKA against the budget of Rs. 12.00 Lakhs  besides the Technical supports.

In the Opening Ceremony Honb’le Minister, Tourism Shri Debi Prasad Mishra inaugurated the championship as Chief Guest on 18th Dec’08 and the Vice Chancellor of OUAT Prof D.P. Ray, along with Er. Harichandan, Prof. Dr. S.K. Ray / Rtn. Debabrata Panigrahi, etc. and many noted personalities from different fields of National and International status as Guest of Honor. Shri Shivananda Ray, President , AOKA presided the meeting, Shri Pradyumna Behera, Organising Secretary gave a brief Report and PDG Ashwini Kar offered the vote of thanks. The meeting followed by wonderfull Cultural programmes sponsored by Rtn. B.K. Sharma with fire works and Demonstrations.
On 19th Dec’08 Sri Jayadev Jena, President, PCC, Orissa as Chief Guest and Shri Sameer Mohanty. Chairman, State Khadi Board / Shri Gopal Mohanty, Chairman, State Bar Council  attended as the Guest of Honor and awarded medals to the winners of that day. Delegates enjoyed the PRESIDENT’s DINNER at the LIQUID , the only Disco Theque in Bhubaneswar.
            On 20th Dec’08 Hon’ble Union Minister, RD, Shri Chandra Sekhar Sahoo awarded medals Chief Gust along with Former Chief Mininster Shri J. B. Pattanaik, Leader of opposition, Orissa Assembly / Shri Prafulla Ghadei, Honb’le Minister, Finance / Former Minister, Sports Shri Suresh Kumar Routray,  Orissa / Shri K.P. Mishra, Commission of Bharat Scouts & Guides / Rtn. Dilip Pattanaik, Dist. Governor, R.I. Dist. 3260 / Swami Sradhananda and many other personalities as the Guest of Honor. Medals awarded to the winners of the day by the guests followed by MEENA BAZAR organized by Inner Wheel Club of Bhubaneswar with lots of FUN & FOOD Stall at the venue with many LUCKY DRAWS enjoyed by one and all. On this occasion the Founder  and pioneer of Kickboxing in India Engineer S.S. Harichandan was honored by the Chief Guest and Guests and Mr. Pradyumna Behera awarded 4th Dan of WAKO.
            On 21st Dec’08 Honb’le Minister UD, Shri K.V. Singh Deo awarded the Champions as the Chief Guest along with Mr. S.K. Tamotia, Former CMD, NALCO / Er. S.S. Harichandan, President, IAKO / Mr. Montu Das, Secretary General, IAKO /  and many other eminent personalities.

The competitors were conducted by many Internationally reputed Referee/Judge Mr. Dinesh Mishra (Bihar), Mr. Montu Das (WB), Mr. Pradyumna Behera (Orissa), Mr. Manoj Shukla (Orissa), Mr. Bibhuti Bhusan Behera (Orissa), Mr. Haresh Dahiya (Delhi), Mr. Anand Balu ( AP), Mr. Sanaya Singh( Assam Riffles), Mr. Santosh Deshmukh (Maharastra), Mr. Rawat(Chandigarh), Md. Asfaque(Punjab),  etc.   successfully without any dispute.

The following Trophies were awarded to
TEAM Champion                              -           Orissa
Runners Up Team                             -           Delhi
Third Team Champion                     -           Maharastra
Best Disciplined Team                     -           Tripura
Best Promissing Child Kickboxer   -           Mantahan of Rajasthan as the
Best Women Kickboxer                   -           / Varkha of Orissa
Best Male Fighter                             -           Mudasir Saha of Assam Rifles
Best Referee                                     -           Mr. Santosh Deshmukh of Maharastra

The efforts of the Organising Secretary  Mr. Pradyumna Behera was well appreciated by one and all for a smooth functioning starting from Reception, Transportation, Accomodation, Fooding, Entertainment, Medals, Mementos, Certificates, Trophies, excellent Venue Arrangements, etc. and adjudged as the BEST ORGANISER , said the Founder President of IAKO Engineer S.S. Harichandan.   Entire programme was widely covered by Print and Electronic Media.

Montu Das
Secretary General
NEXT 53rd National School Games Championship - Result BACK TO HOME
  © Copyright 2008 Indian Association of Kickboxing Organisations. | HOW TO JOIN | LINKS Designed & Developed by